The First Draft

The first draft was a “write as it comes to you” approach for me, which means that all of my ideas were not written out in one sitting, but rather as they came to me.  Using this sort of approach can be hit or miss, in that you don’t know how or when ideas will come to you and you just hope that you think of them before the deadline approaches. I’m not quite sure which idea in the paper is my absolute favorite but my least favorite is the first paragraph–I don’t really have a story to go along with it, which makes it different (i.e. kind of bland) from all the other paragraphs.  My two questions that I would address to readers is:

1. What tense (past/present) should I be writing in when I use stories from my life? If you pay close attention you can see that the tense jumps around all over the place and is not consistent.

2. My paper was a progression of media devices I grew up with and experienced throughout my life and by the end I came to a couple realizations about them.  Does this get across in the paper and is there anything you would like to see or not see added/subtracted from this paper to strengthen the gist of the paper?

2 Comments

  1. shelahw said,

    September 3, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Is this your usual writing process? I’d be interested to hear how some of these admittedly “forced” exercises influence your current process, if at all. It’s a pleasure to read your lucid, succinct prose and I’m really looking forward to Draft 2.

    PS. I’m adding your top five websites to my must-troll list. I’m especially curious about thisiswhyyourefat.com, as per my previous note to you.

    • plankjes said,

      September 4, 2009 at 1:11 am

      For writing in English classes, yes this is the normal approach I would take (as long as I set enough time for myself). As far as current writing exercises go, it depends on whether they were for class time or homework, it also depends on what the exercise topic was. If they were for class time, I’d usually have a harder time coming up with something on the spot since it is jarring to my normal writing process. Homework exercises, like the playlist blogpost, would be easier because I could start and stop writing ideas as they came to mind until the deadline. Topic is highly dependent too–I draw a blank on childhood (I’ve struck a goldmine if I can remember that far back on demand) and can’t really relate to game consoles even though I have a Wii. The exercises don’t change my process, but they do influence me to write as if I’m experiencing an event in real time (with vivid details). That’s at least one thing that I took with me to the paper.


Leave a Reply

